Chelsea Carlson

ImageClearly born in the wrong decade, Chelsea Carlson is truly a rocker at heart.  Don’t let her blonde hair fool you – Taylor Swift she is not.  In a world where it seems every female singer is a popstar, this rock musician is a welcome change.  Chelsea took the music scene by storm two years ago when she decided to “go solo” and begin performing acoustically throughout the New York / New Jersey area.  What began as appearances at local open mics and dream has led to winning Top New Female Act at the 2013 Jersey Acoustic Music Awards, following two years of accomplishments such as the release of two original singles on iTunes, performances at highly acclaimed venues, sharing the stage with well-known musicians, interviews at WDHA and WNTI, a 3-song EP, and collaborations with amazing songwriters.  Her journey so far caught the eye of the Daily Record, who featured her among the top ten people to follow in 2013. Chelsea also received a nomination for Top Female Acoustic Act at the 2013 Asbury Music Awards, held at the Stone Pony. ​Influenced by Robert Plant, Janis Joplin, and Roger Waters, Chelsea is not your typical “singer-songwriter.”  Her original music has been described as soulful, powerful, and even cutting.  Her vocal style has been compared to that of Grace Potter and Anne Wilson.  Chelsea hopes to take the heart of classic rock and blend it with the intensity of the blues, energy of modern rock, and raw emotion of alternative music, into something new and exciting.

INFO

​Over the years, Chelsea has played in numerous bands and at many venues, including the Hard Rock Café in Niagara Falls, Stone Pony in Asbury Park, and Bitter End in NYC.  Chelsea’s shows are energetic and captivating.  Whether she is performing solo, with a full band, or in an acoustic duo, Chelsea’s performance will leave you wanting more.  Her setlist not only includes original music, but creative covers ranging from Jefferson Airplane to the Foo Fighters.  No matter the venue or band, her true home is performing onstage.Chelsea recently completed her third semester at Berklee College of Music, where she studied bass guitar and music business. Currently, she is working on putting together a full album of her original songs, and performing throughout the area. Chelsea is the host of Open Mic Night at the Inn at Millrace Pond in Hope NJ. She also teaches music lessons at Valley Music Center in Long Valley NJ, and runs the Rock Instruction Program 101 group class.  In April 2013, Chelsea joined the nonprofit organization Musicians on a Mission, which aims to use the power of music to inspire giving, raise awareness, and benefit charities throughout the state.​In a rapidly changing music industry, Chelsea Carlson is someone you will want to keep your eye on!

2013 was a really great year for me, one that I am sad to see go.  It began with being named one of the top ten people to follow in 2013 by the Morris County Daily Record – and I hope I lived up to that title!  I received Top Female Act at the JAM Awards, released new music, played tons of shows, and had my Kickstarter CD campaign funded.

I’ve been nominated for a 2013 Asbury Music Award!  I’m up for Top Female/Band Acoustic Act!  I can’t believe it – I definitely didn’t see this coming.

Drum roll please – my Kickstarter campaign was fully funded!  We not only reached my original goal of $3500, we exceeded it and reached a grand total of $5050!  Thank you so much to everyone who donated to this campaign.  I am so excited to finally be recording a CD for you.  Stay tuned for more details about when I’ll be recording!

I’ve been holding this news in for way too long – I recorded a cover of “Great Gig in the Sky” by Pink Floyd with The Wall (Pink Floyd Tribute Band) and it premiered tonight at 9:00 PM on AsburyParkRadio.net!  Download your copy today on my Bandcamp site – 50% of proceeds from downloads will be donated to breast cancer research through the American Cancer Society.  Thanks to Dave Tsien for recording and mixing the track, and of course to The Wall for their awesome performance of the music (Dave Tsien on guitar, Robert Trepcionne on bass, Patti DeVincentis on keys, and Steve Plesnarski on drums)! Also thank you to Wyatt Sikora for the awesome cover art!  Hope you all like it!

I’m back from Florida following an extremeley successful debut show in Bradenton!  I had so much fun performing at Making Strides Against Breast Cancer at the grand opening of Soma Creekside.  The event benefited the American Cancer Society and raised over $1000 for breast cancer research!  Not to mention…I had a great time playing amongst the palm trees!  I hope to be back very soon! 🙂

After three years of gigging and writing, I am finally ready to record a CD…but I need your help to do it!  A few days ago, I launched a Kickstarter Campaign to help raise money to fund my CD.  I set a goal of $3500 and I have 43 days left to reach that goal – if I do, everyone who donates will receive a special pledge package (ranging from sneak peeks of what I’m working on in the studio, to getting copies of the CD, to having a house concert!)…but if I don’t reach the goal, none of your cards will be charged and I’ll need to think of a plan B.  For more information on how you can donate, please click here.  I really want to be able to share my songs with you, and I know that together we can make my dream of recording a CD a reality!

So happy to announce that next month, I’ll be performing a show the farthest away from home to date!  I’ll be playing at Making Strides Against Breast Cancer, an event to benefit the American Cancer Society, at Soma Creekside in Bradenton FL on October 6.  I am so excited not only to be traveling to Florida, but to be part of such a good cause. That’s not all I’ve got going on though – in addition to regular gigging and plans for an album, I’m going to be releasing a cover recording in the next few months.  Stay tuned for more!

Last Sunday, I was interviewed on Danny Coleman’s Rock On Radio for two hours…my longest radio spot yet!  During my interview, I gave a few live performances of some of my original songs – and for anyone who missed the show, you can now hear my latest original “Yesterday’s Fire” recorded live during the program!  Thanks to everyone who tuned in, and I hope you enjoy “Yesterday’s Fire.”

This past Tuesday, I performed with an awesome full band at the Berkeley Heights Fireworks Festival featuring Mike Lefton on lead guitar, Robert Keyser on bass, Dean De Carli on keys, and Matt Cidoni on drums.  We kicked off the night with songs by everyone from Janis Joplin to the Foo Fighters, and had such a great time.  Afterwards, I joined Pink Floyd tribute band, The Wall, to sing “Great Gig in the Sky” – something that I’ve always wanted to do.  It was such an amazing experience and I had a really great time. Can’t wait for next year’s fireworks festival!

http://www.chelseacarlsonmusic.com/

https://www.facebook.com/cecmusic

http://www.jeffcrespirocks.com/

Leave a Reply

