Light of Day 2014

   ImageImageImageImageImageLast year I stumbled upon the Light of Day festival, I was new to the area as a photographer and just starting to become aware of all the cool shows in around the Asbury Park area. I remember being at The Saint for a cool show with Lords of Mercy and getting to meet people like Tony Pallagrosi and TC Tolliver. I heard the bands talking about the Light of Day Foundation but didn’t know anything about it so I went home and did a little research. I found out that the foundation was to raise awareness and money for Parkinson’s Disease so this year I wanted to officially cover the event as a photographer. It was a great experience for me and a lot of fun getting to support a great cause and getting to meet and photograph many great new and old artists. I have always been about the new up and coming bands and artists so I wanted to be at the shows that showcased more of that but also wanted to experience the vibe that came along with the well known acts. When I looked at the schedule of shows across the area venues it met what I was trying to accomplish. I was reached out to by the Nerds for their Stone Pony Cover me show and was able to catch the Soul Cruisers and the B Street band as well. The next show was the LOD Rockin Bowl – A – Thon at Asbury Lanes, it was a great night with many well known area musicians as well as a great crowd of fans. I was able to photograph the Mike Rockit Band, #HANKANDBEZZY, Michael Patrick’s Ring of Fire band, Joe D’Urso & Stone Caravan, the Sonny Kenn band and of course Wille Nile. One of the highlights for me was getting to see Lisa Bianco perform on stage, a friend of mine mentioned her as a great performer but until the LOD I had never seen her. The next few days I spent almost all my time at The Saint covering the LOD Rock Heavy show, the Rock show and the LOD Last Note show. The bands I was able to cover were Useless, Judgement, Lower the Veil, Sekond Skyn, Lost Romance, Grey Goes Black, Geena and Dragster, The Battery Electric, Quincy Mumford and the Reason Why, F.L.O.W. and Garden State Line. I was also able to get over to the Stone Pony that last night for Ardvark Smile an amazing young band that I feel will go places.

   The overall experience for me was a great one but very exhausting to say the least. I want to personally thanks Jean, Gary, Michele, Kyle, Scott, Tony and everyone else who had a part in making this event possible you guys ROCK!

 http://www.lightofday.org/

Here are the links to all my photo coverage from the shows :

1

1

1

1

The Nerds (1)

1

http://www.jeffcrespirocks.com/

Leave a Reply

