Skate and Surf Break Contest at Encore Round 1

judges_v

So this past weekend was round 1 of the break contest for the Skate and Surf Festival being held at Iplay America/Encore Event Center this coming May 18th and 19th 2013.The break contest is being held in multiple venues around and some of the round 1 winners have been announced. I was very surprised to see so many new, young and up and coming bands this year. All different styles and genres is what makes music go round. I consider myself very open minded when it comes to music so I can appreciate a great straight out rock band to a death metal screamo band and everything in between. This weekend was no exception with bands representing everything from rock, screamo, metal, ska, funk, hip hop and pop. I am always excited to see new bands so I can help promote them using my photography skills. The bands I was able to catch on Saturday was The Hopeless Carrion, By The Butcher, The Bass Polics, Lance Green, Half Daze, Clear The Path, Memora, Fairfeild, Three Cheers Too Late and The Project. I didn’t get to see Lovelectric, The Perfect Gentleman, Xero Gravity and 99 regrests but I have seen them all perform before so I am very familiar with them and can say that all four of the bands I missed moved on to round 2 including Lance Green, Half Daze, Clear To The Path, Farfield, Three Cheers Too Late and The Project. I was very impressed with the band The Project which is a young band created by Paul Sallee owner of Music University in Freehold, N.J. Half Daze is a band I saw at last years break contest and felt they were very much improved this year. Two bands I thought were very good that didn’t make the cut were The Hopeless Carrion and Memora definitely go check them out as well as all the other bands that performed. Sunday I was able to see Dear Jupiter, Seasons, WhoWeAre, Sunny Gang, Cinsera, Napalm Party and Mildly Medicated. The bands I missed Confused Disciples, Silent Perfection, Back To The Action, First To Friday and Stiff Motion. The winners from Sunday were Seasons, WhoWeAre, Napalm Party, Mildly Medicated, Silent Perfection, Back To The Action, First To Friday and Stiff Motion. Mildly Medicated, First To Friday and Stiff Motion are without a doubt three of my favorite bands that I have come to know and love over this past year. I think Dana from First To Friday and Amanda from Mildly Medicated are two of the best female vocalists I have heard in a long time. Both of them are backed up by amazing talented musicians who will only get better in time. I am so looking forward to the next round as the competition gets tighter. Congratulations to all the winners as well as to all the bands that enter the contest. Exposure is a very important part of these contests so always hold your head up and do what you love. 

http://www.jeffcrespirocks.com 

2 thoughts on “Skate and Surf Break Contest at Encore Round 1”

Leave a Reply

